Pop culture, entertainment & all things Fresno

On TV tonight: ’2011 CMT Artists of the Year’

Fashion Taylor Swift.JPG “2011 CMT Artists of the Year,” 9 p.m. CMT: Jason Aldean, Kenny Chesney, Lady Antebellum, Brad Paisley and Taylor Swift are honored for their successes over the past year.

The broadcast is a mix of music and tributes. Along with performances by Gavin DeGraw, The All-American Rejects, Joe Walsh and The Avett Brothers are touching and funny moments shared by Sara Evans, New Orleans Saints head coach Sean Payton, former St. Louis Cardinals manager Tony La Russa, Lionel Richie and William Shatner.

Matthew McConaughey, Kelly Clarkson, Miranda Lambert, Ellen DeGeneres and Jeff Gordon appear in taped messages to congratulate the honorees on their big night

This is a nice salute to some talented people. The strangest thing about this 90-minute special is that it is hosted by Rob Lowe. He’s not the first name I think of when it comes to country music.

Responses to "On TV tonight: ’2011 CMT Artists of the Year’"

petertheowl2 says: